2014 STA Nationally Recognized Yearbook Revealed... with a Twist
/ Categories: Press Releases

2014 STA Nationally Recognized Yearbook Revealed... with a Twist

When the yearbook editorial staff and several members of the Class of 2014 returned to St. Thomas Aquinas on Orientation Day to dedicate and distribute the 2014 yearbook, they revealed that modern technology has provided the classic yearbook with a twist.  

"Augmented reality is a technology that superimposes a computer-generated image onto the user's real-world view," said yearbook adviser Michelle Chauvin. "Basically, we utilize a smart-phone App 
called 'Aurasma' to view certain photos in the yearbook which have been linked with a video clip pertinent to the photo.  The video plays through the app, thus giving an added dimension to the traditional yearbook experience." 

Some examples of videos used are the senior entrance to the Back to School Dance, Homecoming activities, announcement of Homecoming Queen, academics, and sports highlights.

One parent posted on the school's Facebook page, "I got a chance to sit and explore the yearbook this weekend, and not only was it beautifully done, but the pictures that came to life in video format is just about the COOLEST thing I've ever seen!! Great job to your Yearbook Staff!!"

During the Distribution Day event, STA Principal Jose Becerra displayed a banner to the student body and announced that STA was named a 2014 Jostens National Yearbook Program of Excellence. "This 
is a huge honor for St. Thomas Aquinas and particularly for our Yearbook Staff," he said.  "It's exciting to know that at Jostens headquarters up in Minneapolis, they know who we are in Hammond, Louisiana. This is just another way we are proud to be an example of excellence."

STA's 2014 award-winning yearbook program was led by 2014 graduates Payten Powell, Editor-in-Chief, and Madison Chauvin, Senior Editor. This is the second consecutive year that STA has received this recognition.  They are the only school in the region, one of only three in Louisiana,  and 365 nationally, to be honored by Jostens.

"Jostens’ National Yearbook Program of Excellence Awards" were presented to the STA yearbook program for achieving the defined criteria in each of three following categories: creating an inclusive yearbook, generating school engagement, and successfully managing the yearbook creation process.  

“Yearbooks connect students’ hearts and minds to the school story, school year experiences, and the community to memorialize moments that matter.  Jostens is proud to recognize yearbook staffs and 
advisers who create engaging yearbooks that tell the story of their school communities,” said Murad Velani, chief operating officer for Jostens. "We understand that a great yearbook program does not just happen, and we are dedicated to helping schools, yearbook advisers, and students to strengthen their programs by providing state of the art tools, resources, and best practices that support the development and creation of award-winning yearbooks.” 

The 2013-14 yearbook staff included editorial staff Payten Powell, Editor-in-Chief; Madison Chauvin, Senior Editor; Dani Schillace, Student Life; Bailey Barringer, Organizations; Rebecca Ishee, Sports; Amanda Jordan, Photography; Sydney St. Pierre, Classes; seniors Savannah Laborde, Katie Gambel, Amanda Ridgell, Sarah Ellen Edwards, Jordan Jarreau, Emily Rusciano, Lauren Daniel, Madison Casey, Madison Tucker, Anna Lanier, Blanton Burgess, Laikyn Lauderdale, Brandt Tycer; and juniors Isabella Perrilloux, Carlye Galloway, Skylar Compton, Miranda Howes, and Lindsey Cordoba.
Previous Article Class of 2018 Enjoys Ice Cream Social
Next Article Students Honored for Service