/ Categories: Press Releases


The Starlettes Dance Team from Saint Thomas Aquinas Regional Catholic High School recently returned from Orlando, FL where they competed in the Universal Dance Association’s National Dance Team Championship.  The Starlettes competed against nearly 100 small varsity teams from across the country who qualified to compete at the NDTC.  They advanced to finals in their Jazz division and also advanced to Small Varsity Hip Hop semi-finals, finishing the weekend with an eighth-place national trophy in the Small Varsity Jazz category and an eleventh place finish in Small Varsity Hip Hop. 

“The talent we see in Orlando is astounding,” said Coach Olivia Marceaux. “Dance is constantly evolving and the competition gets harder with each passing year. STA’s dance program is consistently recognized as being one of the best in the nation. Many Starlettes have gone and will continue to go on to scholarships to dance for collegiate programs like LSU Tiger Girls, LSU Golden Girls, Southeastern Lionettes, Ole Miss Rebelettes, and University of Memphis Pom Squad. I am truly honored to coach such a talented group of girls and I am excited for the future of this program.”

The 2015-16 Starlettes are freshmen Kylie Ruiz and Mackie Sandage; sophomores Londyn Daniel and Rachel Pistorius; junior Abi Collins; senior Madelyne Miley; and senior Captains (3 years) Emily Owens, Cailin Sampey, (4 years) Chloe Chauvin, and Haileigh Bolton. 

“Nationals is an experience I will never forget,” said Senior Captain Chloe Chauvin. “It’s so humbling knowing that such a small school from Louisiana can compete with huge schools across the nation. I love being in a setting with thousands of girls, watching everyone do what they love.”

Principal Jose Becerra stated that the Starlettes have a national reputation for excellence. “These girls have made a name for themselves in the national arena. That’s good for STA, it’s good for Hammond, America, and it’s good for Tangipahoa Parish.” 

The Starlettes compete at NDTC thanks to many generous team sponsors, including Scott Sandage Properties; Johnny Chauvin Photography; Bill Hood Imports; Gasaway Gasaway Bankston Architects; Hammond Veterinary Clinic; Ross Downing Chevrolet; Professional Weight Loss Clinic; Statewide Transport; ReBath of South Louisiana; Bruce & Peggy Beard; South Coast Anesthesia; Don & Mary Brouillette; Associated Waterproofing Corp; Blumberg & Associates, Jimmy Owens; Cashe Coudrain Sandage; Ponchatoula Lumber Company; Farm Bureau Insurance, Sally Carlisle; Sampey General Contractors; Ribando’s Electrical Supply; Charles Black DMD; Advantage Financial; Nelie Durham; Michael’s Seafood; Townsend Homes; Anatomix Physical Therapy; Lakeside Ford/Winnsboro Dodge; Albasha; Ponchatoula Family Pharmacy; Malnar Tire Mart; Nicky Muscarello, Attorney at Law; Collins Anesthesia Associates; Robertson Funeral Directors; Don Chaucer’s Pharmacy; Amerson White Court Reporters; and Lemoine Academy of Dance.

Other honors received by the Starlettes this year are:  State Champions in Hip Hop and 3rd place in Jazz at the Louisiana State Dance Championships,

UDA is the largest dance company in the world, training more than 30,000 dancers each summer in over 600 camp sessions across the country.  UDA hosts more than 30 regional competitions each year for high school, college, and all star teams. The National Dance Team Championship is the only national championship endorsed by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS). The event is broadcast on ESPN2 and reaches more than 100 million homes each year. 

# # #


Reigning State Hip Hop Champions, the STA Starlettes placed 8th in the nation in Small Varsity Jazz and 11th in Small Varsity Hip Hop at the recent National Dance Team Championships in Orlando.  Pictured are (bottom, l-r) Cailin Sampey, Emily Owens, Haileigh Bolton, Chloe Chauvin; (middle, l-r) Kylie Ruiz, Londyn Daniel, Abigail Collins; and (top, l-r) Rachel Pistorius, Mackie Sandage, and Madelyne Miley.

Previous Article Congratulations to 2016 Brotherhood Sisterhood Recipients
Next Article Daniel Fox Awarded Scholarship from Hibernians